Friday, July 10, 2009

Let's Make History!

On Tuesday the National Book Foundation announced that in 2009, for the first time, the public will choose The Best of the National Book Awards Fiction. National Book Awards is celebrating their 60th year by presenting a book-a-day blog on the fiction winners from 1950 to 2008. The blog, which runs from July 7 to September 21, started with Nelson Algren's The Man With the Golden Arm and will end with Peter Matthiessen's Shadow Country.

468_60 banner ad for 60th Anniversary of National Book Awards

Writers connected to the Foundation have been sent ballots with all 77 books listed. They will select three. The top six vote getters will make up a short list, which will be announced on September 21st. Between September 21th and October 21st we have the opportunity to vote for our favorite on the Foundation’s web site. Each unique email address will be entered into a sweepstakes for two free tickets to the National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner and two nights in the Marriott Hotel near Wall Street.
What books do you think will make the cut?

No comments:

Post a Comment